My Frugal Frugal Ways


Once a Week Cooking
January 4, 2008, 11:39 am
Filed under: cooking, food

This weekend I made a huge pot of black bean soup. While I was at it, I soaked and softened two bags worth of beans so I have gobs left for other things such as black beans and rice and black bean stuffed potatoes. After my soup was done simmering in the crock pot, I portioned it out for eating and freezing. A quick wash of the crock pot and in went a whole chicken, some water, and some seasonings for chicken soup.

For my family, I made some bread which only cost pennies per loaf. It only takes a few minutes if you have one of those good kitchen aid mixers with a dough hook. After the four loaves of bread were done baking, I baked some smaller loaves of my gluten free bread. While the oven was still hot, a few cookies for guests went in.

Then I made a bunch of flour tortillas for family and some corn tortillas for myself. It’s time consuming, even with a tortilla press, but saves a lot of money and the flavor can’t be beat.

Boom, clean the kitchen real well and we have enough meals for the week. Of course, the first couple of weeks you do this, you have to cook some regular meals during the rest of the week or you’ll be eating the same thing day in and day out. But after three weeks of cooking large batches of soups and stews, you have enough of a variety of things from which to pull lunches and dinners without getting too bored. And the shopping list for each week is nice and short and the total cooking time is only a couple of hours rather than the whole day that it usually takes to cook for the month.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

